Thoughts from Starr on the Week

This past week was fairly ordinary in Central Park, and by ordinary I mean wonderful! Several new arrivals (in small numbers) delighted those who experienced them. For me the highlight was an American Bittern found by Tom Perlman in the North Woods on Tuesday. It remained there all day. On Wednesday Karen spotted a female Wood Duck as she flew into a large tree (the duck, not Karen!). Some participants of my walk learned that Wood Ducks roost in trees and nest in tree cavities.

By creating this website, webmaster extraordinaire David Barrett has single-handedly brought me into the 21st century, something my own children have been unable to achieve. David does 90% of the work on this website and I am deeply grateful. Thank you, David!

Every day brings new surprises in Central Park. Hope to see you there!

Good birding,

Starr

