24 May 2012: Starr’s Comments

Yesterday was most satisfactory. Once again the Park was bird-filled. We spent an hour and a quarter at Summit Rock watching migrants fly across Central Park West, with most of them landing in one Honey Locust. Birds had been held back by the weather patterns for about a week but finally the light turned green and the journey could continue. To say that we had 64 species including 19 warbler species gives only a bit of the picture. I estimated about 200 individual warblers, for instance. A few of us saw the Mourning Warbler at the Upper Lobe. We all had Blackburnian, Bay-breasted, Least Flycatcher, Gray-cheeked Thrush, etc. I have one more week of walks and I intend to make the most of them.

I want to clarify what I said last week about following birds north to their breeding grounds. I didn’t mean that you have to travel to Canada. Most of the local bird clubs have field trips in June to Sterling Forest, Doodletown Road (each about an hour from the city) and Basha Kill Marsh. Any patch of forest will have at least a few breeding birds. We learn more about birds by observing them in different phases of their yearly activities. Meanwhile, I have one more week of walks.

Good birding,

Starr

