Starr’s Comments

This has been a seesaw migration so far. One day we had 40 species, then 33. On Saturday, Alex, who very ably led two walks, had 50 species, including a Kentucky Warbler for everyone and an Orange-crowned Warbler for a couple of people.

We’ve had a lot of quality birds. Besides the Kentucky and Orange-crowned, we had a Yellow-breasted Chat on Wednesday, August 22nd, and Worm-eating Warbler on a few walks. We’ve had our first few Red-breasted Nuthatches and our first Osprey of the year, which brings us up to 142 total species for the year. It’s so good to be back in the Park!

Because of of my chemotherapy, however, I can’t lead every walk but I will do as many as I can. Alex has already represented StarrTrips beautifully and Lenore will do so occasionally in the future. Fall migration, as I’ve often said, is my favorite season.

Good birding,

Starr

