Starr is featured in my new birding book

BMYThumb

I recently published A Big Manhattan Year: Tales of Competitive Birding. You can read more about the book here on my website.

I devote a chapter to a profile of Starr, who appears often throughout the book. I also discuss both the basics and the finer points of birding in Manhattan, introducing the reader to Manhattan’s most sought-after rare birds and explaining in detail my strategies for observing them. My battle with Andrew Farnsworth for the big year lead maintains narrative tension and continues to the climactic last day of the year.

The book is available both as a paperback and as an eBook for the Kindle. My site has links for buying, browsing, and searching inside it. Have a look!

I also have begun blogging about my own birding again, so, if this is something you enjoyed, see my blog.

–David Barrett

